UCSB Materials Professor Tresa Pollock has been honored with three separate awards from The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS).

Thursday, December 21, 2017

First, Prof. Pollock is the recipient of the TMS 2018 Morris Cohen Award.  This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials properties.  Prof. Pollock was cited for “seminal contributions to the development of Integrated Computational Materials Engineering and its application to understanding the properties of critical materials through creative synthesis, characterization and measurement.”

Second, Prof. Pollock has been selected by TMS to become an Honorary Member of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).  AIME Honorary Members stand at the pinnacle of the profession for their technical contributions, broader impact on their discipline, and for having an exemplary role in their community. She was cited for "extraordinary contributions to the metallurgical field as an inspiring educator, a creative technologist, an exceptional colleague, and a visionary leader of the TMS community."

Third, Prof. Pollock will receive the TMS 2018 Alexander Scott Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes a member’s outstanding contributions to TMS as exhibited by exceptional devotion of time, effort, thought, and action toward furthering the Society’s mission through administrative and functional activities.  She is cited: “For educating, engaging and inspiring countless TMS leaders, and for her own unwavering dedication and service to TMS and the broader materials community.”

News Type: 

Awards and Accolades