UCSB College of Engineering hosted International Year of Light symposium featuring three Materials’ Nobel laureates

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

UCSB’s College of Engineering and Institute of Energy Efficiency (IEE) hosted a symposium to celebrate the International Year of Light as designated by the United Nations. The event brought the greatest minds in lighting and light-based research together to recognize the substantial technological advancements made in the recent past. Of the various speakers who made presentations during the symposium, three are Nobel laureates from the Materials Department - Professors Herbert Kroemer, Alan Heeger, and Shuji Nakamura. The director of IEE, also a professor in Materials, John Bowers lectured, as well. The far-reaching impact of lighting and lighting-based research, as well as the potential direction of future research, was a common theme during the symposium. 

Please find the full story on UCSB’s Year of Light Symposium at The UCSB Current