Faculty

Tresa M. Pollock Department Chair
Tresa M. Pollock
NAE
ALCOA Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-3810     Email: pollock@engineering.ucsb.edu

Michael Chabinyc Associate Chair
Michael Chabinyc
Professor
Phone: 893-4042     Email: mchabinyc@engineering.ucsb.edu


Guillermo C. Bazan Guillermo C. Bazan
Professor, Materials & Chemistry
Phone: 893-5538     Email: bazan@chem.ucsb.edu
Matthew R. Begley Matthew R. Begley
Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Materials
Phone: 679-1122     Email: begley@engineering.ucsb.edu
John Bowers John Bowers
NAE
Fred Kavli Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-8447     Email: bowers@ece.ucsb.edu
Larry A. Coldren Larry A. Coldren
NAE
Fred Kavli Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-4486     Email: coldren@ece.ucsb.edu
Steven P. DenBaars Steven P. DenBaars
NAE
Mitsubishi Professor, Materials
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Phone: 893-8511     Email: denbaars@engineering.ucsb.edu
Craig Hawker Craig Hawker
FRS
Professor, Materials
Alan & Ruth Heeger Professor, Chemistry
Phone: 893-7161     Email: hawker@chem.ucsb.edu
Alan J. Heeger Alan J. Heeger
NAE, NAS
Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Professor, Physics & Materials
Phone: 893-3184     Email: snoh@cpos.ucsb.edu
Jacob N. Israelachvili Jacob N. Israelachvili
NAE, NAS, FRS
Professor, Chemical Engineering & Materials
Biomolecular Science and Engineering Program
Phone: 893-8407     Email: jacob@engineering.ucsb.edu
Edward Kramer Edward Kramer
NAE, AAAS
Professor, Materials & Chemical Engineering
Phone: 893-4999     Email: edkramer@mrl.ucsb.edu
Carlos G. Levi Carlos G. Levi
Professor, Materials & Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 893-2381     Email: levic@engineering.ucsb.edu
Robert M. McMeeking Robert M. McMeeking
NAE, FREng
Tony Evans Professor of Structural Materials
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 893-8434     Email: rmcm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Shuji Nakamura Shuji Nakamura
NAE, Millennium Technology Prize Recipient
Nobel Prize in Physics
CREE Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-5552     Email: shuji@engineering.ucsb.edu
Chris Palmstrom Chris Palmstrom
Professor, Electrical and Computing Engineering & Materials
Phone: 893-3618     Email: cpalmstrom@ece.ucsb.edu
Philip Pincus Philip Pincus
Professor, Physics & Materials
Biomolecular Science and Engineering Program
Phone: 893-4685     Email: fyl@physics.ucsb.edu
Cyrus R. Safinya Cyrus R. Safinya
Professor, Materials & Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Biomolecular Science and Engineering Program
Phone: 893-8635     Email: safinya@mrl.ucsb.edu
Omar A. Saleh Omar A. Saleh
Associate Professor, Materials
Biomolecular Science and Engineering Program
Phone: 893-8814     Email: saleh@engineering.ucsb.edu
Rachel A. Segalman Rachel A. Segalman
E.N. Kramer Professor
Professor, Chemical Engineering & Materials
Phone: 893-3709     Email: segalman@engineering.ucsb.edu
Ram Seshadri Ram Seshadri
Professor, Materials & Chemistry
Phone: 893-6129     Email: seshadri@mrl.ucsb.edu
H. Tom Soh H. Tom Soh
Ruth Garland Professor
Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Materials
Graduate Program in Biomolecular Science and Engineering
Phone: 893-7985     Email: tsoh@engineering.ucsb.edu
James S. Speck James S. Speck
Seoul Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-8005     Email: speck@mrl.ucsb.edu
Susanne Stemmer Susanne Stemmer
Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-6128     Email: stemmer@mrl.ucsb.edu
Galen D. Stucky Galen D. Stucky
NAS, AAAS
Professor, Chemistry & Materials
Biomolecular Science and Engineering Program
Phone: 893-4872     Email: stucky@chem.ucsb.edu
Chris G. Van de Walle Chris G. Van de Walle
Herbert Kroemer Chair in Materials Science
Phone: 893-7144     Email: vandewalle@mrl.ucsb.edu
Anton Van der Ven Anton Van der Ven
Associate Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-7920     Email: avdv@engineering.ucsb.edu
Claude Weisbuch Claude Weisbuch
Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-8846     Email: weisbuch@engineering.ucsb.edu
Stephen Wilson Stephen Wilson
Assistant Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-2008     Email: stephendwilson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Frank W. Zok Frank W. Zok
Professor, Materials
Phone: 893-8699     Email: zok@engineering.ucsb.edu


Emeriti and Research Professor

Arthur C. Gossard
NAE, NAS
Prof. Emeritus and Research Prof., Materials & Electrical and Computer Engineering
Phone: 893-2686     Email: gossard@engineering.ucsb.edu
Herbert Kroemer
NAE, NAS
Nobel Prize in Physics
Prof. Emeritus, Electrical and Computer Engineering & Materials
Phone: 893-3078     Email: kroemer@ece.ucsb.edu
Glenn E. Lucas
Prof. Emeritus
Phone:     Email:
G. Robert Odette
Prof. Emeritus and Research Prof., Chemical Eng., Mechanical Eng. & Materials
Phone: 893-3525     Email: odette@engineering.ucsb.edu
Pierre Petroff
Prof. Emeritus and Research Prof., Materials
Phone: 893-8256     Email: petroff@engineering.ucsb.edu
Fred Wudl
Prof. Emeritus and Research Prof., Materials
Phone: 893-5817     Email: wudl@chem.ucsb.edu


Adjunct and Distinguished Faculty

Gerhard Abstreiter
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Professor, Walter Schottky Institute
Phone: +49-89-289-12 7     Email: abstreiter@wsi.tum.de
David Auston
Adjunct Professor, Materials & Electrical and Computer Engineering
Exec. Director, CEEM
Phone: (805) 893-3376     Email: auston@ece.ucsb.edu
Jean-Lou A. Chameau
Distinguished Visiting Professor
President and Professor, King Abdullah University
of Science and Technology (KAUST)
Phone:     Email:
John Hutchinson
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Professor, Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Harvard University
Phone: (617) 495-2848     Email: hutchinson@husm.harvard.edu
Mahn Won Kim
Adjunct Professor
Professor, Department of Physics
Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology
Phone: +82 42 869 2535     Email: mwkim@physics.ucsb.edu
David B. Marshall
Adjunct Professor
Principal Scientist, Materials Division
Teledyne Scientific
Phone: (805) 373-4170     Email: dmarshall@rwsc.com
Egbert W. Meijer
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Professor, Organic Chemistry
Eindhoven University of Technology
Phone: +31 40 2473101     Email: e.w.meijer@tue.nl
John Mitchell
Adjunct Professor
Senior Chemist, Materials Science Division
Argonne National Laboratory
Phone: (630) 252-5852     Email: mitchell@anl.gov
C.N.R. Rao
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Linus Pauling Research Professor
Honorary President of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Science
Phone: + 91 80 2365307     Email: cnrrao@jncasr.ac.in
Manfred Ruehle
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Professor, Max-Planck-Institut fur Metallforschung
Phone: +49 711 689 352     Email: ruehle@hrem.mpi-stuttgart.mpg.de
Matthias Scheffler
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Director & Professor, Theory Department
Fritz Haber Institute
Phone: +49 30 8413 471     Email: scheffler@FHI-Berlin.MPG.edu
Choon Fong Shih
Distinguished Visiting Professor
Professor, National University of Singapore (NUS)
Phone:     Email:


Associated Faculty

Glenn H. Fredrickson
Professor, Chemical Engineering & Materials
Phone: 805-893-8308     Email: ghf@mc-cam.ucsb.edu
Gary Leal
Professor, Chemical Engineering & Materials
Phone: 805-893-8510     Email: lgl20@engineering.ucsb.edu